Those who invest their hearts, time, families, and finances in the building of a local church deserve to have confidence in church leadership. People are looking for leaders who conduct themselves with integrity and respect when making decisions that affect their lives.

Corps Officers / Pastors and Staff

Captains Laura and Stefan Van Schaick, Corps Officers and Pastors

As the Salvation Army Officers appointed to Barrhaven Church, Captains Stefan and Laura Van Schaick oversee the day-to-day ministry and operations of the church, and are responsible for the development of the spiritual life of our church family. They can be reached through the church office at 613-440-7555.

Ann Hardman, Administrative Assistant

Ann works in our church office keeping things running smoothly and responding to inquiries from the community. She is responsible for administrative tasks such as responding to emails and phone messages, and assisting our Corps Officers and church in their various programs and ministries.

Mission Board

Our Mission Board is responsible for establishing the mission, vision, goals and strategies of The Salvation Army Barrhaven Church, in consultation with the entire leadership team.

Members of the Mission Board meet monthly to review and evaluate the overall mission and ministries of The Salvation Army Barrhaven Church, support and work alongside program leaders, and provide significant oversight to the varied ministries and personnel resources.

  • Captain Stefan Van Schaick
  • Captain Laura Van Schaick
  • Rob Gaus – CSM (Corps Sergeant Major)
  • Joan Humphreys – Pastoral Team
  • Harold Humber – Treasurer, Business Team
  • Dana van Gulik – Program Team
  • Peter van Gulik – Member at Large
  • Bram Dean – Member at Large

Pastoral Team

  • Joan Humphreys – Director
  • Ruth Hupe – Prayer Coordinator
  • Marion Bowes – Greeter Coordinator
  • Lt. Colonel Verna Hynes – Shepherding Coordinator
  • Donna van Gulik – Life Group Coordinator

Business Team

  • Harold Humber – Director
  • Phil Woolsey – Assistant Treasurer
  • Captain Stefan Van Schaick

Program Team

  • Dana van Gulik – Director
  • Angela Dean – Sunday School
  • Melissa Gaus – Music Ministries
  • Sharon Dean – Community Care Ministries and Seniors
  • Captain Laura Van Schaick